It’s Friday, Friday…

Yes, I know. Worst song ever.

Want to know what’s worse than listening to that Rebecca Black Monstrosity?

Knowing that I (extremely briefly) dated the guy who wrote it.

You want to know what’s worse than that?

Bringing it up because it’s just about my only claim to fame.

But let’s forget all that. It is Friday, and that’s cause to celebrate!

Here’s my week in review:

Drink of the week:

Diet Canadian Dry Ginger Ail

gingerail

We had a bit of THE WORST STOMACH FLU EVER, a rip out your guts and spew everything from the tips of your toes upward kind of flu that put our house into a five day vomit-a-thon. So ginger ail was on the menu along with popsicles and rainbow sherbet.

Song of the week:

This Train is Bound for Glory by the members of Old Crow Medicine Show, Mumford and Sons, and Edward Sharp and the Magnetic Zeros.

This makes me want to immediately resign from my stable government job and ditch my deodorant and shoes and be a groupie. Their contagiously enthusiastic love for music makes me want to get up on the stage like Edward Sharp and let the spirit of the music move me. Unfortunately (fortunately?) my Dutch reserve and lack of rhythm (plus the gas and cable bill) keeps me in check.

Blog of the Week:

http://thompsonak.wordpress.com/2013/04/25/lets-talk-about-my-sin/

Check out my roomie’s new blog. He’s a sincere humble and talented author and I know I am going to see great things from him.

Shameless sisterly bragging of the week:

My amazingly talented brother was published in Vogue Italia. His picture is titled Wind and is Amazing!!! I’m so proud (also makes me feel bit like a loser in comparison- which should teach me not to compare). Check him out at Joshua Veldstra Photography.

Reason I love my church this week:

I am so thankful for the presence of the arts at our church. The first thing we learn about God in the Bible is that God is creative and we are created in God’s image. The set designs and the foyer art helps me personally to remember the series and the messages that were taught. Also, the value on art and not just overtly Christian art has helped me think about the verses “whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent and praiseworthy—think about such things”  in a new light.

One thought on “It’s Friday, Friday…

Leave a Reply

