It’s Friday! May 3, 2013

Drink of the Week:

I love the mint/lime combination for spring and summer and this week I pretended that it was spring even though it was snowing in May.

Here’s the recipe:

Mojitos
Drink of the week:

mojito
¾ cup of sugar
1 ½ cup of water
10 mint leaves per mojito
1 Tbs. lime juice per mojito
Light or silver rum
Club soda
Directions:
Heat sugar and water until sugar is completely dissolved. Let cool. In a cocktail shaker add mint leaves, lime juice, the simple syrup to taste (I would start with a half of shot glass per drink) and one shot of rum per drink. Muddle the mint leaves. Add ice and shake in the shaker. Fill a glass half full with mixture and then fill the rest of the way with club soda. Yum!
Song of the Week:

I have always liked Pink for her kick ass attitude and unconventional beauty. I enjoy this song because of the lyrics about trying to work through a relationship and the paring between her voice and Nate Ruess’s. If you want to see a ridiculously amazing dance piece look up her video “Try”. I’m still thinking about what she was trying to portray, although it is obvious it is about a very unhealthy relationship (Trigger warning: domestic violence).

Blog of the Week:

Rachel Held Evans with Why Progressive Christians Should Care About Abortion.

This blog explores the complexity of the pro-life, pro-choice debate in a deep, real way. I love her quote “[I]nstead of focusing all of our efforts on making “supply” illegal, perhaps we should work on decreasing demand.  And instead of pretending like this is just an issue of women’s rights, perhaps we should acknowledge the very real and very troubling moral questions surrounding a voluntarily terminated pregnancy. “

Reason I love my church of the week:

When a sermon that was preached on Romans 3,  the pastor didn’t stop at verse 23 but rather went on to the good news that we are justified freely by his grace and the redemption that came by Christ Jesus in verse 24. When I was little, we had alphabet flash cards and I learned the letter A by learning “A- All have sinned and come short of the glory of God”.   The focus of my childhood church was often too much how we were sinners, instead of the awesome grace of God. I am so grateful that our church emphasizes this.

One thought on “It’s Friday! May 3, 2013

Leave a Reply

