It’s Friday! June 14, 2013

Drink of the Week:

Kassik’s Dolly Varden Nut Brown

By far my favorite local brewery and proof that good things do come from Nikiski, Kassik’s turns out quality, deeply flavorful, and strong beers. Last weekend, I was lucky enough to enjoy two glasses of their Nut Brown variety while listening to the Wailin’ Jennys at the Kenai River Festival. It was so much fun but also was interesting exercise in teamwork because the line was so long for the beer we had to order all at once. Everyone was holding two or three beers, when Mike showed up with the food. I’m sure we looked pretty comical at times, balancing the beers while trying to eat meat off sticks, take pictures, or use the porta-potty.

Blog of the Week:

Rachel Held Evans with Love Opens the Door A plea to American Churches Regarding Gay Scouts

She powerfully lays out the emotional and logical consequences of banning gay children and teens especially since all scouts are forbidden to engage in sexual activity of any type.

She also states so eloquently:

“I’m beginning to wonder if what makes the Gospel offensive is not who it keeps out, but who it lets in.   Samaritans. Gentiles. Women. Tax collectors. Prostitutes. The poor. The merciful. Peacemakers. Drunks. Addicts. The sick. The uneducated. The persecuted. Slaves. Prisoners. The naked. The hungry. The marginalized. The troublemakers. The oppressed. The misfits. The powerless. Children. A self-important, undisciplined cynic like me.  An ethnic and sexual minority who, though the Bible forbade him from even entering a temple on account of his sexuality, turned to Philip and said, “Look, here is water. What can stand in the way of my being baptized?'”

Pinterest Epic Fail of the Week:

Friday pics
The mosquitoes have been driving everyone crazy! Every kid I have seen lately (as well as a few adults) look like they have some kind of terrible pox. So we tried the yeast, sugar, water in a soda bottle experiment. NOT ONE MOSQUITO was caught. NOT ONE. I think I caught more mosquitoes in our citronella candle.

Song of the Week:

Guardian by Alanis Morissette

Alanis has been my all time favorite since my angsty youth. I also think she is one of those people who keep getting more beautiful the older they get.

 

 

5 thoughts on “It’s Friday! June 14, 2013

  1. I love the nut brown …..I ordered one in Seward and was asking myself why I was getting it in Seward when I could get it every day on the way home from work if I wanted?? Then I realized I never want to stop anywhere after work and it’s summer! Horray have you ever gone to the brewery and done the tasting?

  2. I don’t suppose they have any GF beer? Next time we’re in the area, we want to check out the state park at the end of the road.

Leave a Reply

