It’s Friday! June 21, 2013

Drink of the Week:
2013-06-20 19.52.25

Blueberry vodka mixed with lemon lime soda. Perfect for the hot weather we have had this week!

Blog of the Week:

Sarah Bessey with In which we are reclaiming feminism. If you haven’t checked out Sarah Bessey’s blog, please rush over here right now and read it!

“The first time I said it out loud, it took courage. It felt weird, a bit risky and daring. I was trying the word on, like a little girl trying on her mother’s shoes, to see if it fit me: feminist. And it did fit, it grew to fit beautifully, and so I turned this way and that, admiring the way the word clung to my voice and my thoughts and my work like we belonged together.

I’m a feminist.”

(Sneak Peek: During the month of July, I will be posting a series on Mondays about why I am a Christian Feminist)

Bravest Apology of the Week:

Alan Chambers of Exodus International, one of the largest and oldest proponents of so called restorative therapy apologizes to the LGBT community and Exodus International shuts down.

“I am sorry for the pain and hurt that many of you have experienced.  I am sorry some of you spent years working through the shame and guilt when your attractions didn’t change. I am sorry we promoted sexual orientation change efforts and reparative theories about sexual orientation that stigmatized parents.”

Shameless Sisterly Bragging of the Week:

My brother had a wonderful article written about him in the Homer Tribune!
Home Grown Photographer Goes Vogue by Sean Pearson

News that Made me Actually Like a Politician this Week:

Lisa Murkowski changes her mind and supports gay marriage.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/06/19/lisa-murkowski-gay-marriage_n_3465493.html

Song of the Week:

I Don’t Care, I love it- by Icona Pop. Thanks to Denise for lending me her summer song for this week (language warning if you are used to the radio version).

Leave a Reply

