It’s Friday! May 16, 2014

Wow! What a beautiful spring we have been having! After a lot of work by an amazing number of good friends and family, Denise’s shop Susan’s Bath and Body Boutique is open. It is gorgeous (even though still somewhat under construction) so stop by if you are local!

Drink of the Week:

wpid-2014-05-15-22.05.53.jpg.jpeg

 C.M.S.  Red wine mix. Denise and I enjoyed this last night while watching a corny 80’s movie.

Blog of the Week:

It’s Not About Conforming to the World 

This is one of those blogs that made me want to stand up and shout “Amen!” One of the reasons speaking out is so terrifying to me is because a lot of what I say is in disagreement with my culture.  I was raised in the conservative Evangelical culture so when I speak out, I speak out against the culture and belief system I was raised with and am most comfortable in. A lot of my friends and family disagree with me in many areas (but are so much more gracious in their disagreement than I ever expected). It is usually harder (heart poundingly so) to speak out than to be silent.

Excerpt out of a Book Most Likely to Cause EVERYONE IN THE HOUSE to Gasp in Horror and Yell Out Random Exclamations while reading it. (This was also the book that Rachel Held Evans threw across the room seven times while reading it to research her book A Year of Biblical Womanhood. I can empathise with her reaction):

Trigger warning: Extremely Strong Misogynist Language. (Also, so. messed. up.)

The Bad Bob story from Created to be His Helpmeet by Debi Pearl.  Something is Wrong with Me: Jane’s Story  reprints the story in her blog to illustrate why it was damaging to her self-esteem.

Song of the Week:

 

Falling In Love (With My Best Friend) by Matt White.

Cute video but a good way to get lice.

 

 

Leave a Reply

