It’s Friday! May 30, 2014

This week is kind of bumming me out. News stories have been constant this week about the rapes and murders of women, for instance a Pakistani woman stoned to death in an “honor” killing for marrying the man of her choice, a Sudanese woman sentenced to stoning for supposedly changing her religion, two girls raped, killed and hung in India, and a misogynist man on a killing spree in California.

At the same time, the #yesallwomen trend is giving voice to women daily consequences to sexism and misogyny every woman experiences in her life. The safety in the numbers of people addressing this issue is giving women courage to speak out against mistreatment and harassment. It is yet another reminder of why we still need feminism.

Drink of the Week:

Kim Crawford- Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough

Thanks Tammy Davis for introducing me to this one. It’s light and somewhat grape-fruity. Love it!

Event of the Week:

Happy Birthday to my wonderful husband Mike who turns 40 this week! I hope you were somewhat surprised by your gift. 🙂

Blog of the Week:

I Will Not Be Silent Anymore by Teresa Pecinovsky over at Rachel Held Evan’s Blog.

Way too similar to some of my experiences as well as many, many other women’s experiences in the church. She is hugely courageous to speak out.

Song of the Week:

I thought I needed to lighten up this post a bit so I asked Patrick for the happiest song he knew. He chose this one.

Zac Brown Band – Colder Weather

One thought on “It’s Friday! May 30, 2014

  1. Haha! I love that the “happiest” song Patrick knows is about a lonely man with commitment issues. LOL This is song is actually on my sisters sad music list affectionately known as “the suicide list” :oP

Leave a Reply

