Shocked!

Yesterday, I made a shocked exclamation of dismay while reading  a blog by Doug Wilson.

When my roommate asked me if I was still shocked by people believing things like he wrote, I realized that I am often shocked.

I am shocked when Douglas Wilson argued in his blog that he should be able to use his discretion about whether or not to report a sex crime against a child to CPS or the police due to the government supports sex education in schools so cannot be trusted to fairly investigate sex offenses.

I am shocked when Wilson closes his argument with the sentence “I am a pastor and I cover things up for a living”.

I am shocked when a commenter on the blog said statutory rape shouldn’t be a crime because it wasn’t a crime in the Bible.

I was shocked last week that people still follow and defend Mark Driscoll after his incredibly hateful, misogynist, homophobic online comments were published last week.

I am shocked that the response to the Mars Hill congregation regarding protesters the outside the church calling to “Question Mark” wasn’t more transparency but rather an admonishment to “trust us”.

I am shocked that seemingly reasonable people still defend abuse handbooks like “To Train Up a Child” and “Created to be His Help Meet” by Debi and Michael Pearl.

I am shocked that women who have a voice due to feminism,  which is defined as the advocacy of women’s rights on the grounds of political, social, and economic equality to men,actually hold signs proclaiming why they don’t need because “They want to be a home maker” as if being a homemaker somehow conflicts with feminism.

I am shocked when someone “de-friended” me because I put an anti-rape poster on social media because I am “being a victim” when I am speaking for up for the 59% of Alaskan women who have experienced domestic or sexual violence.

I think part of my shock is due to being surrounded by people who are vocal in standing up against any abuse or sexism. For instance, my husband began to use “Driscoll” synonymous with “coward” or “weak” in response to Driscoll’s  use of “pussified” to describe men who are homemakers. I also read a lot of blogs by organizations fighting abuse and discrimination such as G.R.A.C.E. and the Gay Christian Network.

While I do get cynical a lot, shock is the impetus for continuing to speak out. Shock gives me the adrenaline rush that makes me overcome my fear and continue to write. It is that extra push that nudges me to get over the apathy and belief that “everyone knows this stuff” that I am writing. So while abuse and evil still exist in the world, I hope I never stop being shocked.

One thought on “Shocked!

  1. Pingback: The Powerful Men of Evangelicalism Suddenly Care about Sexual Abuse of Children? Prove it. | Jessica Veldstra

Leave a Reply

