The Results Are In

I finally made it through Katie Hopkin’s three months of her idiotic “anyone can be thin if they weren’t so lazy” diet plan! My results and thoughts will be posted in three posts that I am hopeful will be published this week. The first, this one, will outline my results vs. hers. The second one will cover my personal realizations during the process and the third will cover what I think we as a society and we as human beings can learn from basing our judgments of other people on our own experiences, as Ms. Hopkins unfortunately does, and how that leads to prejudice and stereotyping.

The Results
Here are the hard numbers for comparison:
Katie Hopkins was originally 125 lbs but she gained 43 lbs in three months by eating 6500 calories a day. An average person with a 2000 caloric dietary need to maintain weight should have gained about 100 pounds by eating that much.

Katie Hopkins started her weight loss program at age 39, weighing 168 lbs, and she is 5’7”.

I started mine at age 34, weighing 171 lbs, and I am 5’6”.

10 Days Into Her Plan of Walking 10,000 Steps, Running One Hour Three Times Per Week, and Eating Only When Hungry (1700 Cal per day):
Hopkins lost a total of 11 lbs
Veldstra lost a total .6 lbs

wpid-screenshot_2015-06-02-13-47-09.png

5 Weeks Into her Plan of Walking 10,000 Steps, Running One Hour Three Times Per Week, and Eating Only When Hungry (1700 Cal per day):
Hopkins lost a total of 21lbs (10 additional pounds in month two)
Veldstra lost a total of 3lbs (2.4 additional pounds in month two)

wpid-screenshot_2015-06-02-13-50-19.png

Three Months Into her Plan of Walking 10,000 Steps and Eating Only When Hungry (1700 Cal per day), Running One Hour Three Times Per Week, but then Inexplicably Increasing it to an (almost) impossible 20,000 steps (10 miles) per day on the last month when she realizes that she isn’t going to lose all the weight like she said she would but tries to cover it up by saying she looks better this way:
Hopkins lost 32 lbs (11 additional pounds in month three)
Veldstra lost 12 lbs (9 additional pounds in month three)

Hopkins actually made it down to a healthy BMI in 10 days. I still haven’t made it, three months in.
A few disclaimers:
Hopkins states over and over at the beginning of the program that she can lose all the weight that she gained but she still has 11lbs to go at the end of the three months, showing that even for her, gaining the weight is easier than losing it.
I didn’t walk 20,000 steps every day in May (for which I will discuss the reasons to in my next post, however I kept my average up to 20,000 steps with the exceptions of two days: On May 10th, I had a fever and was sick on the couch all day and got 1713 steps and on May 12th I suffered a leg injury and got only 11,517 steps.
I also didn’t eat when I was hungry like Hopkins because I am almost always hungry. Therefore I kept my calories the same average of hers.

One thought on “The Results Are In

  1. Pingback: Katie Hopkins and the Just-World Fallacy | Jessica Veldstra

Leave a Reply

